I finally drew my poor mans sheep

JWP58

WKR
Looks like a buddy and I are going auodad sheep hunting in Texas, on public land. I've been putting in for a couple of years and am kinda shocked we drew. Oh well it will be a good excuse to head home. Although it will impact my late season chukar hunting...

Any advice?

• Banned
OP
J

JWP58

WKR
For anyone that has hunted Barbary sheep, am I crazy if I take my .243? There's no way I'll be shooting at anything over 300yds.

• Banned
OP
J

JWP58

WKR
I'm surprised that you even have to draw for an exotic.

Well I could just pay 7 or 8k and go hunt a private ranch. But tpwd offer a multitude of drawn hunts on public land ranging from gator to javelina to auodad.

realunlucky

Super Moderator
Staff member
I've never hunted one but they are near the top of my bucket list. Everything I've heard is they can take a hard lick and keep on trucking. I'd opt for the best and heaviest bullet I could shoot well. Hope you do a hunt recap I'd sure love to follow your hunt. I'll draw new mexico next year (yea right)

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

tlowell02

Lil-Rokslider
I shot a pretty big ewe Barbary last year on my public land hunt. Dropped her at 299 yards using my .243, although it was a spine shot.

Which place did you draw?

tlowell02

Lil-Rokslider
Same for me. It was a fun hunt, really rugged country.

They'll probably try to stick you with another hunter unless there was more than one on your application.

• Banned
OP
J

JWP58

WKR
Same for me. It was a fun hunt, really rugged country.

They'll probably try to stick you with another hunter unless there was more than one on your application.

This year they made it a mandatory minimum of two hunters per application.

easttex

Lil-Rokslider