Bighorn Hunt

ljalberta

WKR
I’ve never done a write up before, as I am not much of a fan of writing, but figured I’d give a short rundown of my first solo hunt/first sheep hunt since I love reading everyone else's. I have been planning and researching sheep hunting for the past few years, but always had something getting in the way (moving, university, or the past year, my wife was unable to work, so I couldn’t justify the time off work). This year I had 11 days set aside for an early season backpacking Willmore (the region) hunt. Originally it was supposed to be with some hunting partners, but both were unable to make it - including one pulling out 18 hours before I left. While a bummer at the time, it ended up working out quite nicely as I like both hiking alone and and I was able get my first ram anyway! I had spent some time scouting during the spring and summer in a couple of the staging areas, however decided to go in the one I had never been to. I thought the sheep I found scouting would be hammered opening morning, but I would only be leaving Edmonton then.