Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Senior Member Brandon Pattison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,880

    Help! I have a new Garmin 62sc and Hunting GPS Maps Topo

    I installed the BaseCamp and PLAT. How do I send the maps to my handheld? I have an Apple.
    Go in heavy, come out lighter.

  2. #2
    Senior Member Curtis C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Posts
    653
    Does Basecamp have this icon? If so what happens when you click it?

    mapsource.jpg

  3. #3
    Senior Member Brandon Pattison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,880
    Nope. It has "Send List To Device" and when I do I cannot click on the mapping option. The only other one is for BirdsEyeView which I don't want.
    Go in heavy, come out lighter.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Brandon Pattison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,880
    It seems the intel online has been different than what I had to do, including install. I haven't found where to paste my unlock code and I remember reading to NOT do online.
    Go in heavy, come out lighter.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Curtis C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Posts
    653
    I just installed basecamp, it looks quite different than Mapsource.

    Did you already authorize the Plat map to use with this new GPS or an older one?

    Did Basecamp recognize your GPS?

    Do You have the Garmin communicator installed?

    I just followed the instructions in the basecamp help section and it seems to be loading BLM maps just fine.

    I do suggest following Hunting GPSMaps instruction for authorizing. I did and it worked for me. I think the garmin instructions are different and may create problems

    basecamp help.jpg
    Last edited by Curtis C; 08-16-2012 at 09:31 PM.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Bend Oregon
    Posts
    911
    basecamp will start another program to install the maps to your handheld or sd card. Huntinggps should have a bunch of videos showing step by step how top do it.

  7. #7
    Senior Member Brandon Pattison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,880
    All videos are for a PC.
    Go in heavy, come out lighter.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Brandon Pattison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,880
    There is no ALL DATA. I do not have an SD card in the GPS which is how the instructions lead you. My GPS has 3.5G internal memory, more than enough for internal storage. I am going to call them today when I get home and get help.

    Quote Originally Posted by Curtis C View Post
    I just installed basecamp, it looks quite different than Mapsource.

    Did you already authorize the Plat map to use with this new GPS or an older one?

    Did Basecamp recognize your GPS?

    Do You have the Garmin communicator installed?

    I just followed the instructions in the basecamp help section and it seems to be loading BLM maps just fine.

    I do suggest following Hunting GPSMaps instruction for authorizing. I did and it worked for me. I think the garmin instructions are different and may create problems

    basecamp help.jpg
    Go in heavy, come out lighter.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    northern utah
    Posts
    1,121
    I wish i knew what was going on for you....but on the bright side i own the 62sc with huntinggpsmap loaded just fine. So at least you know it should work well once you get it figured out, and mine is also loaded on the hard drive

  10. #10
    Senior Member Curtis C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Posts
    653
    ALL DATA doesn't show until basecamp recognizes your GPS. Does your GPS show up in the top left corner?

  11. #11
    I have a Mac as well and was able to get the Hunting GPS maps on to my Garmin Oregon 450t. This was about a year ago and it was a bit of a process. I honestly can't remember the steps. Don't be afraid to contact Hunting GPS maps, and Garmin as well. I do know I had to use these instructions to convert the maps at one point.

    http://http://www8.garmin.com/manual...cComputers.pdf

    Also, I was using someone else's PC to get it downloaded and then I had to convert the file for my Mac. If you don't have access to a PC it may be different. Basecamp looks quite different on the Mac than the PC, so most of the videos aren't quite right for you. The good news is it can be done, just remember that patience is a virtue. I'll try to think through the process tonight and see if I can't help a little more.

  12. #12
    Senior Member Brandon Pattison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,880
    Curtis C & MOHunter,

    Thanks. Yes the GPS shows up. Virtues? I need all of the help I can get!!!
    Go in heavy, come out lighter.

  13. #13
    Senior Member Brandon Pattison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,880
    Three phone calls with them on the phone and some adjustments and I am rolling now.
    Go in heavy, come out lighter.

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    SW Wisconsin
    Posts
    89

    I was just looking over my new hunting GPS map for CO on my Garmin 62s. Love the maps, and I have to say huntinggpsmaps customer service was great. I had some issues getting it to load onto basecamp, called them up and they had me squared away in about a minute. Problem was my lack of tech savvy. But they are great!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •