Are you thinking about taking the plunge to the quilt life? This thread may

Travis Bertrand

Super Moderator
Staff member
Hey roksliders,
Are you scared to jump in the quilt world and leave your trusty sleeping bag behind? I know I am (or was). While very similar, a quilt and a traditional sleeping bag enough difference in them to make a guy love one and curse the other. It's not for everyone which is why I've been reviewing the Enlightened Equipment's "convert" quilts. I have a 10 degree, and a -10 degree and phase 1 of the review is complete.

I will be heading into the high sierras really soon to really compare the two as well as the "quilt approach" in cold climates . It's a fitting name for the quilt because it is designed for guys that are unsure if they want to drop hard earned money on a philosophy they haven't tried. You get a quilt that can be "converted" into a quality sleeping bag. It may or may not "convert" you into a quilt guy or gal.

3-31-16 Update. Editor Robby here. Travis' Review on the Convert in two different temperature ratings is done. I think this article will give anyone a good feel for what these Enlightened Equipment quilts can do and how they operate.

Enlightened Equipment's Convert Quilt Review
c4b0b57ae79c5d995d3a0dc79ee39f28.jpg
4296c973b791ea433ee21cdb47965245.jpg

The 10 degree next to the wife's marmot 0 degree on a recent trip
64c6ea4fe2550aaac289a5ee4adcc8f4.jpg

Made in 'murica

Last edited by a moderator:

Joee

Lil-Rokslider
I'll be following this thread. I'm thinking of jumping over to the quilt side but I'm still unsure. I am going to be climbing Mount Rainer at the end of July and want to lighten my pack so I'm looking at these. But I don't know if this is something you use mountaineering on a glacier. I was looking at the Revelation from EE in 10 degree. I'll be looking forward to your high mountain experience with the quilt.

huntnfolk

FNG