Help Selecting a Quilt

highside74

Lil-Rokslider
I want to buy a quilt for sept-Nov hunting. I'm somewhat of a cold sleeper. I think I've decided on 10 degrees for my temp rating. My questions are...

If I'm in low 20s to 30s, how true to temps do quilts run? Is 10 degree about right? My pad has an R factor of 4.9

I'm 6'4 240 and want to keep the foot box closed and be able to get it up around my face. I was told you loose length by closing the foot box. What size do you big guys order?

Who has quick turn around time? I leave sept 9th.

What about used, anyone have something they would part with?

rlmmarine

WKR
Ee is who you need to go with but their custom stuff is running four weeks behind give them a call and see what they have on the shelf I ordered the long wide last week

I got a viam outdoors 10 degree. Its awesome! My wife somehow ends up with it every time we go camping. from what Ive seen Id say its pretty close to the right rating. They shipped mine within a week. awesome people to work with.

OP
highside74

highside74

Lil-Rokslider
Tyler from EE just called me back and said he has a long wide 20 degree Revelation ready to ship. 20 degree makes me nervous. It's a lot of money to be wrong. I know everyone is different but will 20 degree be comfortable in the 20s and 30s?

I made my own quilt that was rated for 40 degrees according to what I had read online and I comfortably got down to 42 degrees without wearing a base layer. As long as you don't consider yourself a "cold" sleeper the temperature ratings for their quilts are very close if you wear a base layer. If you worry that you sleep colder than a normal person just bump down another 10 degrees on the rating.

Muttly

WKR
Hard to beat ready to ship for a lead time...
I,m six two, 230,or thereabouts. Didn't think the wide EE (58", I think..) was gonna work, and the lead times were too far out when I was going to order..