Lite Outdoors lack of spark arrestor.

Hunter6

WKR
So santa brought me a cimarron. Now I'm scouring the net trying to find the best stove for me. I really like the size weight and large door on the 18" lite outdoor stove.

My question is I notice it's with out a spark arrestor. Anybody have one and use another companies arrestor or just don't use one. Is it needed? Y is this the only company that doesn't offer one.

I noticed on TI Goats cylinder stove they actually recommend not using one. Y.

I'm new to the hot tent idea so just trying to get as informed as I can before I spend another 3-400 on the stove.

Thanks and if there is a thread already about this please let me know.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

oldgoat

WKR
I won't use one in Colorado without one, couple of reasons, namely forest fires and ember holes in your tent. The guy from lite outdoors told me he was going to work on that next, he also told me some guy's are using spark arrestors from seek outside or whatever they are called in his stoves.

dotman

WKR
I've used a ti-goat without a spark arrestor for years, the damper keeps sparks down and my pipe is 12" above my peak which also helps, I don't have ember holes in my shelter. Personally I wouldn't worry about it.

Some guys use a flat piece of SS or titanium in the fire box itself, and that causes the flame and sparks to hit that and also keeps heat/sparks from going straight out the pipe.
I think a spark arrestor is needed for 2 reasons. Safety of the forest first and foremost. Hole preventative on the tent.
Depending on wood used these both could be major issues.

Quite often in bow season here in Montana we are still under stage 2 fire restrictions which means we have to run a spark arrestor to be legal. Most of my September hunts are in a dry dead standing lodge pole forest so I would be very irresponsible not to run one.

rbljack

WKR