Shelter/Rain Gear - Kodiak in Aug

Jon Boy

WKR
Looking for some suggestions on recommended single person shelters and rain gear for Kodiak Island in Aug. I'll be doing a fly in deer hunt Aug 11-18 there. I'm preparing for heavy rain and praying for sunshine!

I have little experience with needing an extremely water proof shelter. I currently am running a floorless tarp/bivvy set up but am assuming floorless is not recommended for the conditions I may encounter? I have a terra nova zephorous tent but have not tested it in heavy rain and don't really think Kodiak is really the place to test it.

Also, doing the majority of my hunting in central MT, I don't even own rain gear. I could care less about the brand or color. Just looking for good quality rain gear that works. Light weight is nice but not definitely not necessary.

For people that have done this hunt or similar, what would you recommend and why?

h20fowler

Lil-Rokslider
August isnt too wet in Kodiak, its the wind that will be your enemy. A decent double-wall tent will do just fine (i.e.. Big Agnes, Cabelas, MSR, etc.). Also be prepared for a large temperature fluctuation. Temps can range anywhere from 75 during the day down to 30 at night. Bugs are pretty bad too that time, even at 2000'+ elevation if theres little wind.

For rain gear, as long as its durable you will be fine. Kodiak is infamous for its alders that will poke holes in just about any material. I used Kryptek Koldo when I lived there, but also can't go wrong with rubber stuff like Helly Hansen Impertec or Grundens Neptune.

Have fun with the bears :)