1st Time Quilt Purchase

lif

WKR
Looking to get my first quilt. No knowledge or experience. Want a setup good to 20 degrees. I have good base layers and a puffy to help insulate. Just want a light comfortable solution for a side sleeper. Any advice on which quilts as well as pads and overall setups is appreciated. Thanks in advance

bcimport

WKR
Don't overthink it. Talk to the manufacturer about length and width and order one rated for 10-20 degrees colder than the coldest temps you think you'll encounter. Get a pad that's comfortable to you with a decent R value. I have a 0 and a 30 degree EE and use a ridge rest for early season and an x therm when it gets cold.

I have a Hammock Gear Burrow overfilled with 2 oz which makes it around 15 degrees so I'm good for Sept-Oct. I bought the long so I can pull it over my head as I'm 5' 11" and dont like a cold face. I have a Klymit insulated static v pad which has been warm enough but not as comfortable as I'd like. I'm a side sleeper also and I'm looking to upgrade it.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk

Hall256

WKR
I have a 20 degree quilt from EE and I like it, but I can only use it if it is not too cold....ideally I will only use it in the low 40's. When the temps drop, i either have to augment the quilt or switch to a bag. The main issue I have is that I toss and turn a lot when I sleep, so that lets in a lot of cold air.

So, if you are looking for a light weight option it is great...if you are looking for something that will keep you warm on a late season deer hunt, you might be disappointed.

I couldn't get passed all the cold drafts with a quilt. Realized I like the "no brainer" convenience of a bag and haven't looked back. Lots of guys love them so it's probably more user error on my part.

NHBacon

FNG
I just made mine using materials from RipStop. Came out great. Goes under the pad with shock cord. Cinch at the bottom. Long enough to tuck my head.

Mike7

WKR