Is my sleep system adequate?

AustinL911

Lil-Rokslider
Heading to SW Colorado in a couple days for 2nd rifle. First time ever hunting there. Just curious if RS thinks my sleep system is adequate for the temps, keeping in mind that I (think I) tend to sleep warm. Have been tracking temps for surrounding towns and seems to be anywhere from 20-mid 60s.

I'll be running:
-SO SilverTip
-LO 12" stove
-Borah Gear UL bivy
-Thermarest Xtherm pad
-EE Revelation APEX (20*)

I'm more concerned about the quilt than anything else as I've never used one before. Obviously, if things get rough, I'll have a stove, but I'd rather not stay awake all night, every night trying to keep that thing stoked. Think the quilt/pad/bivy will be enough to sleep comfortably in these temps?

RockChucker30

WKR
Rokslide Sponsor
The bivy will tend to contain the quilt and keep out drafts, adding anywhere from 5 to 15 degrees of warmth. The stove doesn't do anything for nighttime temps unless you're awake feeding it.

For me, I'd be in a 0 deg quilt or my 5 deg WM Antelope bag that time of year. I'm a cold sleeper though.

Best case you know ahead of time how your stuff performs in those temps for YOU...not always possible I know, but that's the best.

Remember that surrounding town temps might not represent actual temps a few thousand feet higher up in the mtns. I’ve always found the “town” temps to be 15-20* different from mtn side actual low temps.

I’d have a second blanket or woobie or something to help boost temps just in case the 20* quilt doesn’t work for the anticipated 20* low temp. Or maybe bring a puffy coat and pants to help stay warm.

For me, I’d be in my 0* Slick Bag inside my Borah Gear SnowySide eVent bivy with Traverse base layers and balaclava on to stay warm this time of year on the mtn.

SHTF

WKR
Classified Approved