How to improve sleeping bag warmth?

Hey, I've got a Mont-bell 37 degree mummy bag. I'm considering buying a quilt to place inside it to increase the warmth. Has anyone tried this? What would you advise? Thanks!

Hey, I've got a Mont-bell 37 degree mummy bag. I'm considering buying a quilt to place inside it to increase the warmth. Has anyone tried this? What would you advise? Thanks!
I have a quilt and it seems to me the quilt would go on the outside if you really wanted to do that. I have a 15 degree quilt which works fine in warm temps as they are pretty easy to "vent" if you get warm. So 1 bag would seem much simpler to me as it'd be much lighter (if you are backpacking) and less cumbersome overall.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk

ljalberta

WKR
Last year I used a Costco down throw (1 lb and 20$) inside a 40 degree bag and it comfortably kept me warm down to the high 20s (it was -2*C outside). I folded it over twice on top of me inside the bag. I was impressed. I tried the blanket on top of the bag one night, but it fell off at some point, and kept using it inside the bag after that. I've used bag liners before, but found I get quite tangled and they don't add nearly the warmth of the down throw. That being said, this year I got a 10* EE Quilt, and that has been the best thing to happen to my backcountry sleep ever.

When my buddy got chilled in his old bag in base camp in WY a couple of years ago, I pulled my wife's quilt out of my truck and draped it over his bag. He's quite a bit taller than her. So, it was pretty short on him, but it did the job well enough. He was toasty warm. I don't know that I'd plan it as a modular sleep system. I think I'd be inclined to just go with a lower temp rated quilt or bag, but it did work.

gudspelr

Lil-Rokslider