Sleeping bag advice after making the switch to heated shelter

Ten Bears

WKR
I am in the process of switching up my sleep system after a couple miserable nights in Colorado this year. Switching from a traditional lightweight backpack tent (Nemo hornet 2p) to a Seek Outside LBO/Vestibule with stove. Just wondering if this changes how you approach temp ratings on bag selection ? Currently, I have a Klymit 20degree Down KSB at 2.10lbs real weight and I want to get into something lighter and smaller when packed to help with the extra weight I am adding with the new shelter. Would a 30degree bag be feasible or do you still plan as if you wont have fire ?

Thanks-
John

armyjoe

Super Moderator
I am in the process of switching up my sleep system after a couple miserable nights in Colorado this year. Switching from a traditional lightweight backpack tent (Nemo hornet 2p) to a Seek Outside LBO/Vestibule with stove. Just wondering if this changes how you approach temp ratings on bag selection ? Currently, I have a Klymit 20degree Down KSB at 2.10lbs real weight and I want to get into something lighter and smaller when packed to help with the extra weight I am adding with the new shelter. Would a 30degree bag be feasible or do you still plan as if you wont have fire ?

Thanks-
John
I never take into account a small stove for my sleeping bag selection. The reason I don't is because when you fall asleep the fire goes out quick and you have no radiant heat. This leaves you with the same temp as without the stove. Last thing you want to do is take a lesser bag because you will be up all night freezing you ass off stoking the stove.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

I'd agree with armyjoe....that fire will go out after 2-4 hours depending on size of stove/type of wood and how well you adjust the damper. Instead of getting up every couple hours to restart one; I would just rather be warm in my bag for the rest of the night.