EE Enigma

cfdjay

WKR
In the market for an EE Enigma quilt. Have any of you guys ever gotten a quilt that was actually too warm? I'm thinking if I just don't wrap myself and leave plenty of airspace it wouldn't ever be "too warm". Keep in mind I have no experience with quilts. I'm eyeing up the 10 deg one.

colonel00

WKR
That's actually the beauty of quilts. You can open the footbox to vent, kick a leg out or even just use it flat like a regular comforter. I'm a very warm sleeper and overheat quickly in regular bags unless it's really cold out. A few weeks ago, I had a 10* EE quilt while camping in Southern California where the temps were maybe only in the 50's. No issue at all with overheating.

ljalberta

WKR
Open it up wide if it's too hot. I had one night with my 10* quilt and it was about 60* out. Wayyyyy too hot so I simply draped it over a small part of my body.

OP
cfdjay

cfdjay

WKR
That's actually the beauty of quilts. You can open the footbox to vent, kick a leg out or even just use it flat like a regular comforter. I'm a very warm sleeper and overheat quickly in regular bags unless it's really cold out. A few weeks ago, I had a 10* EE quilt while camping in Southern California where the temps were maybe only in the 50's. No issue at all with overheating.

Exactly what I was hoping to hear. The Enigma doesn't have the footbox. Would you recommend the Revelation for that option?

colonel00

WKR
Well, I personally love having the ability to open and close the footbox and I've never really had any issues with drafts getting to my feet when it's cold. To me, if you can't open it up, you just have half a mummy bag. I was never a fan of tight footboxes in a mummy bag. I do tolerate it when closing down the quilt because at that point it's usually pretty cold. But, even when I have the footbox cinched up, I typically leave the leg area unzipped for extra movement space.

OP
cfdjay

cfdjay

WKR