Kifaru Slick bag with LPP

PredatorX

WKR
So, I have a 20 degree Slick bag. I realize that for some of the rifle seasons (maybe all), this may not be warm enough without my stove. If i were to wear the LPP at night in the slick bag, it seems that would lower the effective rating a bit. It may not be ideal comfort-wise but it would help give me more options and versatility. Combine that with some LPP type pants that i believe i heard about it should take me down to 0 or below.

Is this a foolish plan? Would this be a legitimate system?

LazyV

Lil-Rokslider
I wear a LPP in my 20 degree bag and I'm not sure it'd get me to zero degrees. I tend to be a somewhat cold sleeper though. Personally I'd try it in the yard before on a hunt.

amp713

WKR
I ran a cheap 20 degree bag and often tossed on a puffy to help stay warm... I ran my slick a few weekends ago, I believe outside temp was 19 and i was cooking warm. Had all my extra clothes in the bag with me so I didn't have to dress in cold clothes.

Also look to your pad. My exped is like a 6 r value. That can make a big change....

Or of course there is the stove option and hot hands....

I find sleeping in a puffy keeps my body heat from heating the bag up, thus I tend to sleep colder. I sleep best with base layers on and a good beanie in cold weather. If youre hunting in late seasons, I would just save up and get a 0 degree bag, you’ll likely be more comfortable.

204guy

WKR
Couple thoughts here. What rifle season and what state? Zero degree temps are going to be very, very rare in Sept, pretty rare in early Oct. to possible in late Oct. November it's definitely possible but still not all that likely. Backpacking with lows of zero degrees is pretty brutal.
Assuming it's a backpacking stove disregard it as any kind of warmth while sleeping. The burn times are too short.
You're definitely going to need to supplement your legs AND your feet with puffy pants and booties to bring them up to par with your upper body.