Will I be cold? Sleeping pad

Wildlifer

Lil-Rokslider
I have done a fair about of truck camping and short hikes which allowed me to bring a heavier sleeping pad rated at R-3.5 with me. I somewhat impulse bought a static v pad on sale rated at R-1.3

This fall I am planning my first backpack hunt to CO in September. It is Currently 92 outside here in NC so there is no way I can test my system out before the trip. Is the 1.3 rated pad with a 15 degree bag going to be enough or should I look for a smaller pad in the R 3 range?

chasewild

WKR
You're fine. You'll be pleased you saved weight. Not sure about the comfort, durability, etc. of the pad, but the R-value is not a concern.

carter33

WKR
I am not an expert but I believe the R-Value is the rating of insulation the pad provides, therefore it should matter. I don't know the temps you will be hunting but I would guess you may want to go with a more insulated pad. Below is an excerpt copied from REIs site on r-value:

"Insulation and R-Value
Even in summer, insulation is important to a good night’s sleep because you lose body heat to the ground. To counteract this, most air and self-inflating pads now have a layer of synthetic insulation inside. A few pads offer down insulation and tend to be geared toward sleeping in very cold environments.
A sleeping pad's R-value measures its capacity to resist (hence the "R") heat flow. The higher a pad’s R-value, the better you can expect it to insulate you from cold surfaces. The R-values shown on REI.com product pages are provided by the manufacturers and range from 1.0 (minimally insulated) to 9.5 (very well insulated).