Quilt Temp Rating for 2nd Rifle Season CO Elk and All Around Use?

So I keep going back and forth on sleeping options. I have a -20 degree bag that I use now when I truck camp and need to get a lightweight option for when I spike camp. I am coming around to the idea of spending more money than I originally wanted to spend and going the quilt route. I like the Enlightened Equipment Revelation and the Convert. Can anyone recommend one over the other? I am leaning towards the Revelation due to the weight difference.

What temp rating should I be looking at? I want to use this for elk in October. I was considering the 20 degree option but after some reading some guys are saying go to a 10 degree or 0 degree. What say you? Any real world experience out there that can help shed some light on this?

I’ve used a Revelation 10 degree in Colorado 2nd season. It’s plenty warm and light but practice setting it up with the straps and such to keep the drafts out. Also, I’m 5’ 11” and I use a wide/long and would not go smaller. I can clip the waist clips together directly without use the strap and then only use the shoulder strap up top if I need to batten down. I’ve used this same quilt in 4th season rifle too and it went fine.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

RockChucker30

WKR
Rokslide Sponsor
I prefer a sewn footbox vs a drawstring for cold weather. My Rev X is fine, but you've got to plug the hole in the footbox with something to take it down to its' rating.

Regarding ratings, I think EE in general is pretty optimistic. I've got a 20° Rev X and a 0° Enigma with overstuff, and I think the Enigma might go to it's rating with the overstuff.

Plan on taking an insulated hooded jacket, beanie, and balaclava if you're doing a quilt in cold weather. They're all multiuse, and can all be used for sleeping insulation.

OP
T