Emberlit stove

thejones

WKR
I am thinking of picking one up. They look nice and light, plus no need to carry fuel.

Anyone using one? Or another companies version? Do they work well in field, or just in theory? Do they take too long to boil water for meals etc.?

Thanks

Lockster

Lil-Rokslider
I like mine, it's definitely slower than alcohol or gas stoves but it is ideal for times when you want to use wood to conserve your other fuel, and it gives you a good base to put a pot on, it is pretty efficient, you don't need a lot of wood to use it, I just pick up a few fallen branches and break them up. I really like it.

Walker6

FNG
They work as advertised. Also a great way to scratch your itch for fire when you don't have time or energy to build a campfire.

Lawnboi

WKR
Iv written and asked on this subject a few time here, but here's my 2 cents.

I'll preface by saying I have no experience with the emberlit stove, only a vargo titanium. So take it for what it's worth.

A few years ago I got the itch and got a wood burner to give a go. They are cool little stoves, light, and honestly I'll probably buy another one in a different variety at some point. They are just neat, having a fire is nice, and the fact that they take up no room at all is good too. That's where the good ends.

To boil water on a wood stove it takes work. You need to gather materials, dry materials, sometimes easier said than done. It takes time to get the fire going, it takes time to care for the fire. It takes a lot more time to boil, how fast that will be will totally be dependent on your fuel. Once your done there's cleanup, wood burners can be messy. Pots and stove will be covered in soot. Wood stoves just take time, it's up to you if it's worth it for you.