3-9x40 enough for medium range antelope?

My eyes are aging a bit, wondering who's using a 9 power for antelope. I don't have a problem with larger bodies animals but them lopes blend in quite well sometimes. I'll belly crawl to 500 where I'm very confident but in the perfect situation may consider stretching a little bit more but I'll never fling anything beyond 600. I haven't chased them for about 5 years, last time my eyes were considerably sharper and had a good clear 12 power scope.

Luis

FNG
I have been using the same Leupold 2-8X for over forty-five years on my same old 30-06. I have always taken an antelope when I had a tag with that combo. It's my only big game set up all these years.

I have never been suckered into getting the newest rifle/scope/spotting scope/binos marketing ploys.

OXN939

WKR
My eyes are aging a bit, wondering who's using a 9 power for antelope. I don't have a problem with larger bodies animals but them lopes blend in quite well sometimes. I'll belly crawl to 500 where I'm very confident but in the perfect situation may consider stretching a little bit more but I'll never fling anything beyond 600. I haven't chased them for about 5 years, last time my eyes were considerably sharper and had a good clear 12 power scope.

A lot of factors come into play before magnification when shooting 500-600 yards. If you haven't shot a series of drills recently, give these a try. Then try them at 600 yards. For probably 95% of the hunting population, magnification is way down the list of problems to solve.

TaperPin

WKR
The only situation I’d find 9x not enough is when goats are bunched up and it’s hard to tell if the animal is clear of the others - of course binoculars can also help answer that question.

On a paper target I don’t see a difference in accuracy between 9x and 12x, prairie dogs yes, paper no, antelope no.

buffybr

FNG