Consumer Direct VS Pro Shop Knowledge

WoolyBugger

Lil-Rokslider
I worked as a bow tech for a couple years and still do stuff for friends an family on the side but I think it is so hard as a pro shop to cater to the average joe who shoots generic, super popular equipment as well as the guy like most of us who shoot high end niche stuff. When I worked at the shop we stocked a couple of lower end spot hoggs and one carter release but ordered everything else besides super popular stuff online for people anyway. Why wouldn't you want it to just come to your door instead of having to come back in and pick it up? Archery is a little different when you dont have a press or the know how to work on your bow. But for stores that carry backpacking stuff, you just can't reproduce the selection the internet has for all the super specific pieces of gear we all buy. I will say it was incredibly satisfying when someone would come in and genuinely value your advice on gear and then come back in after using it and thanking you.

Yotekiller

Lil-Rokslider
My experience with local archery shops has been non stop disgust until I learned to do all the work myself. Almost never had a bow properly tuned from a pro shop. Even sold me underspined arrows for my brand new bow. They wanted everyone to shoot the same arrows they used for 3d. I didn't want to shoot 380 grain arrows anymore and they would mock me for asking for heavier. I grew tired of over priced under serviced. If I had a local shop I trusted that provided decent service I would support them, but I do not. Was always pushed to make a sale and kick me out the door.

16Bore

WKR
Look at the prominence of Internet forums like this one. It's where everyone "starts" anyway. Margins are thin and rents are up. Bows gamble on latest and greatest technology the way I see it. Firearms have very little, if any, obsolescence. Glass makes progress, but it seems of late that the drive is for 10 cent cigars.