Heat pump vs propane

GSPHUNTER

WKR
You have to figure out cost of kilowatt hours, vs propane. I know when I took a class on heat pumps ( hvac tech) the instructor said at that time once it got down below 50 degrees outside, gas was more efficient. Now that was with natural gas. But the colder it gets out side, the lower the temp. of the air coming out of your ducts also. Which equates to longer run cycles in electricity. Propane would be your emergency heat or back up heat. You can get electric heat strips also in an air handler or an elec. furnace to heat the air, as primary ( use reg a/c unit) or back up heat with heat pump. We don’t install to many heat pumps here, as natural gas is readily available 99% of the time.
Mini splits are becoming more and more popular here, ( hydronic heated homes, no duct work) for a/c. Not used much if at all for heat, but they do have the ability.
I would agree with this. I worked in the A/C industry for 38 years, not including time in Navy. I am not a big heat pump fan. As Stalker69 stated you will likely need backup strip heat when the outside unit, condensing unit goes into defrost. If you know a mech. engineer have him do the calculations for you to see if it is cost effective.

MT_Wyatt

WKR
Using an electric heat pump in Montana requires auxiliary heat. Propane is a great choice for that. I think adding to what you have makes sense - two different sources of heat, and use the super efficient one (heat pump) when you can.

As others noted, as temperature decline so does a heat pump’s ability to pull energy from outside and move it indoors. Variable speed inverter compressors and advanced controls have helped reduce how much capacity falls off below zero (some brands advertise something like 90% capacity around 0to -10) but a lot of those are a ductless product.