Lathrop and Sons Mountain Hunter Boot Review (Series)

Brady R

FNG
Classified Approved
For the past year, I have been on the search for a new set of boots that would take the place of the Zamberlan 981 Wasatch GTX that I have been wearing for the past 3 years. My hunting consists of high country mule deer, elk, and any other tag I can get my hands on. Other than hunts, I also wear the same boots for work - where I am constantly in the mountains and hiking hundreds of miles a year.

The boot I landed on was the Lathrop and Sons Mountain Hunter with their Synergy Footbed. Unlike other Lathrop and Sons reviews on the internet, I did not go for the custom foot mapping kit. My budget doesn’t warrant a custom boot, so here we are. This review will occur in real time, over the next few months. With a rather dry beginning to winter, I’m excited to get them out on dirt trails, up on some alpine ridges, and then in the snow. On to the boots.

My first impression is that the Mountain Hunters are solid. Everywhere. There is no part of this boot that appears to have been looked over or compromised on. I was eager to put them on and lace them up and within a minute of opening the box, they were on my feet. The feeling that came to mind once I had them on was a great sense of relief. Many times in the past have I had high hopes for a pair of boots, only to put them on and be disappointed in the fit, feel, or construction. That is not the case with the Mountain Hunters. They fit true to size, are not overly narrow like I find most hunting boots, and the synergy footbeds are exactly what I look for in an insole: full cushion and great support. The added padding and cushion in the heel/achilles area of the boot is an outstanding feature, locking the heel in and adding comfort. I’ve never put on a pair of boots for the first time and been so assured in my choice.