New to Montana Hunting

Hey y'all, I recently moved to Billings, MT from Texas to be a ER nurse up here for the next three years. I have never hunted out west and have a quick question I was hoping someone may help me out with. Just about every forum regarding the Absoroka range and it's surrounding units (316, 317, 525, 565) mentions the subpar to mediocre hunting and an absurd amount of grizzly. I'm content with the subpar hunting. I have no experience, can only get a general tag this season, and will have four days per week to hunt, so I figure the hunting there should be sufficient for my skill level. However, I am worried about the bears. I have no experience with grizzly and will be a solo hunter. Should I sacrifice the amount of days I may spend in the field by finding applicable units further from home to avoid high bear concentrations or is this something that I am overthinking? I appreciate any guidance or advice y'all may give.

johnsd16

WKR
Why those units? Lots of other areas of the state to hunt with elk but less grizz.

I am not super experienced with grizzlies but do hunt some where they are. I personally will never hunt the north border of the park. I will say being solo with no experience is not a good situation. What if you are successful? You can’t control where an animal dies 100% of the time. Being solo with an animal down in a thicket in bear country is just not a good situation. No reason to expose yourself to that risk as a rookie with lots of other options.

Soj51hopeful

Lil-Rokslider
Do you mainly archery hunt or rifle? I haven’t been in those units but I would assume late rifle season most bears will be asleep.

OP
Z
Why those units? Lots of other areas of the state to hunt with elk but less grizz.