Property boundary legal question.

nodakian

WKR
Rokslide Sponsor
I do GIS for a living and I'll agree with the surveyors above that the GIS from the county could easily be off. I'd get it surveyed and if he did put that driveway in on your property I'd offer to sell it to him and rid yourself of the headache. No need to have bad blood with your neighbors.
I agree. Better to keep the peace of possible. The problem with land issues is if you piss off the neighbor--border disputes, loud dogs and vehicles, whatever--then you're stuck living next to someone who hates you, and the hatred festers. I've attended classes by a surveyor who does land dispute mediation, and he said the boundary (or easement) is usually a proxy for the other stuff.

Weldor

WKR
Access would likely have been via prescriptive easement rather than adverse possession. PEs only give the right to use someone else's property for a particular purpose being claimed, such as a driveway. AP means someone gets title (ownership) to the dirt and all associated rights the loser may have had on that dirt. More hair splitting, but very different effects.