QAD Exodus -- What Happened?

birdman22

FNG
I've been shooting the QAD exodus for several years, been a great head. Think every whitetail I've hit in the right spot has zipped right through, until this year.
Shot a nice whitetail on Oct 1, was sitting on the ground and he came in broadside, slightly uphill from me, shot him at 10 yards. As the deer was running away I noticed my arrow was hanging almost completely out of him with very little penetration, thought maybe i hit front shoulder. Deer went out of sight and then walked back in front of me around 60 yards and the arrow was definitely hanging all the way out, bouncing up and down as he walked. I saw this buck bed down 4 times in the first 100 yards, then got up and walked over the hill. Tracked him 4 hours after the initial shot and bumped him out of another bed. Went back the next morning and recovered him 100 yards from where we bumped him.
Thing i can't figure out is upon recovery the arrow was perfectly placed, right behind the front shoulder and the right height, really couldn't place it any better. but it was not stuck in anything on the back side that would have stopped penetration. Figured with that shot placement and distance it should have zipped straight through. Thoughts on the lack of penetration?
The reason for the quicker than ideal track job was it was 90 degrees that day, and with not recovering until the following day i was not able to examine what was hit on the inside of the deer.
Switching to cut on contact broadheads for next season.

how much penetration did you actually get? and how steep was the angle? kind of sounds like you ran the arrow into the bottom of the spine.

OP
B

birdman22

FNG
From the look of the arrow when the deer was walking away it appeared to be 2-4 inches, as almost the entire arrow was hanging out. think when the buck crashed he landed on the arrow and pushed it further into the cavity. Deer was probably 2 to 4 feet uphill of me.