taking a hard look at this tent

Floorguy

WKR
I use a Bearpaw pyranet 1 and that's whats in the back of the Khufu in the first picture. I also used one of Bearpaws nests in my SL3, the one that's custom for the SL3. John at bearpaw is a real nice guy but his nests and tents are no where near the quality of Locus Gear, Hyperlite, and MLD in my opinion. Both nests I've bought from him and one of my buddies tents have been way off on his published weight specs, which was very frustrating. I sew paraloft equipment with industrial sewing machines as part of my job in the CG and that's where I'm coming from as far as the quality of his nests/ tents. Again, I continue to use his stuff and would recommend it but you definitely get what you pay for from some of these other tent builders. My .02

Thanks for the reply, I have no experience with bearpawwd but I have been looking at different shelters from him and other companies I had actually just been looking at the Luna before you had posted so it was fresh in my mind. You are also the first person I have really heard anything negative about his products

Getting back on topic, littlebuff I would love to read your review if you decide to get it. I seem to be checking out zpacks page everyday looking at their shelters ands keep waffling between jumpingnon a tent or tarp to replace my sl5 for solo trips or a tarp for emergency bivy.

CGSwimmer25

Lil-Rokslider
Aside from wt. being off, what do you notice most regarding quality difference?

The stitching is really sloppy and his corner seams are shit. Looks like he either rushes putting these things together or just isn't steady on the machines. I noticed it when I bought my first nest from him but really picked up on it when I bought the second nest and was looking at it compared to my Khufu. I paid $200 for his cuben nest with the lighter .8 bug netting and weight was off by 3.5 ounces. 3 ounces for my sil SL3 nest