Vertical vs Traditional Stock Grip

Building a rifle. With all the hype of the new vertical grips...I am interested. Are they as quick to shoulder as traditional sporter type stocks? I am not planning on making "snap" shots, but want something I can shoulder if I need to get a somewhat quick shot off. Without much experience with vertical grips, I am wondering if it would be a mistake for a carry/backpack rifle.

JCMCUBIC

WKR
I started playing with lightweight vertical grip stocks a while back and I've come to prefer them. Used them on heavier rifles in the past and liked them there but those weren't rifles I was carrying while hunting. I still use a lot of traditional stocks and they still work just as good as ever.

For the carry/backpack role you mentioned, the Grayboe Trekker is worth considering. I've been using them on two lightweight rifles (.223AI and 7-08) and really like them. Previously I used one with a Sendero contour carbon barrel for a while and I don't recommend them there as the forend/barrel could be made to touch. With a light contour steel barrel there's not way they can touch.

217516.jpg

217517.jpg

Macintosh

WKR