Whitetail Road Trip Camp Planning

sconnieVLP

Lil-Rokslider
I am fortunate to have my job sending me to school for a year and my only responsibility is to be a full time student. As a student, I have a ~6 week winter break for the first time since I was an undergrad student. I’m planning a road trip leaving from VA and stopping in WV, OH, and either IL or IN on my way back home to WI in time for Christmas/the holiday rifle season.

I’ve never done anything like this before and I’m mostly looking to push myself out of my hunting comfort zone and work on figuring deer out in a few days vice several seasons. I’m planning on camping instead of staying in hotels to try to do this as economically as possible.

I’m curious to get insight from others who have done something similar, whether in those states or elsewhere, on securing your camp/gear/vehicle and having my truck with out of state plates (WI) parked out in some of the public areas while I’m in the woods.

Specific questions:
1) Do you all leave you camp totally set up when you leave for the day or are there things you put away?
2) Is there anything I can do to make my camp look less appealing for people to mess with?
3) Any tips for avoiding my truck getting messed with by people unhappy with my OOS plates? I have a hard rolling tonneau cover and locking tailgate so my extra gear won’t be just sitting visible.

Perhaps I’m just paranoid, but at this point in my life and being on my second assignment to DC I have pretty low expectations for people’s honesty.

Thanks in advance for any advice/tips.

Last edited:
When we were out in SoDak last year we left the tent up and things like a sleeping bag in it. We had locking tonneau cover and no one messed with it, but I get what you mean by not trusting others. Basically, anything that I couldn't afford/want to lose I brought out in the field with me. Good luck this fall!

SloppyJ

WKR