Four vs Three

I've been shooting 5" three since I started shooting a stick. Also have I've been using and indexing nock to feel where to put my cock... Y'all are perverts!

But I'm going to a lighted nock and I haven't found any with an indexing tab. And I just want to tinker.

Kinda thinking about going to a four fletch so it doesn't matter how the arrow sits on the string.

Joel Turner mentioned with super high FOC you can go to a shorter feather and run four's.

Then do you still helical/off set or go straight?

How's the noise between three and four?

Thanks

Beendare

WKR
You don't need super high FOC to shoot a smaller vane....it just has to be tuned. I've used as small as 3-3" feathers with a BH and had great arrow flight.

i settled on 3-4" feathers...just to err on the side of a poor release [which I have been known to do- grin]

oldgoat

WKR
Noise is more of a factor of fletch shape, parabolic being quieter than shield and banana being quieter than either. Four fletch is fine and you can go shorter. Depending how smooth your release is drives how short you can . I stick with three 5" though, never had a problem so far getting nocked up correctly using peripheral vision.

ElkNut1

WKR
3 - 5" feathers here as well & I too have tried multiple combinations with no real world differece. I like keeping it simple. Haven't had elk or deer jump from noise yet! (grin) Maybe my bow isn't fast enough! Don't over think it, shoot what's accurate & you have the most confidence in.

ElkNut1

I like to run 4x4" feathers. I'm a lazy stick bow shooter and don't like to have to put my cock feather on right. I can't tell a difference between three or four feathers, 4" or 5" feathers. I don't bare shaft tune either. I try not to complicate archery, which is why I switched from a compound to a recurve and don't do LR rifle shooting. It's too much work for me and I have a short attention span.