Draw length??

JD619er

WKR
So a couple months ago I picked up my first trad bow a bodnick slick stick 45lbs at 28 inches. I am pretty much hooked at this point I bought anoth bow a Kota badlands 58 lbs at 28 and it's gonna sit on the shelf until I feel I'm ready for it. So I fletched some arrows that were close in spine and just started shooting the slick stick and researching and learning and practicing my form. I've been shooting everyday for three months and recently decided it was time to tune my arrows. So I bareshaft tuned then I bareshaft planed to my fletched arrows and I feel really good about where I'm at. I'm second guessing myself on form now though. Reason being I had a 28.5 in cam on my Mathews And now after measuring my draw length with my trad bows I keep coming up with 26.75 in. From the deepest part of the nock to the deepest part of the handle and add 1.75 in. When I have my wife take pictures or I look in the mirror everything looks in line and my back gets a good workout from shooting all the time. So I feel like I'm pulling through with good back tension. I do keep my bow arm bent a little I have some plates in the bow arm wrist and it doesn't feel very good to lock it out. So I guess my question is should I be alarmed and concerned about my form just because of these numbers? I know I'm new to this forum and to trad bows but any help would be greatly appreciated!

You'll lose about an inch of draw length going from compound to Trad, on average. If you are consisteny drawing to your anchor and get a solid anchor using your back tension to achieve good and accurate arrow flight, I wouldn't mess with anything.

OP
JD619er

JD619er

WKR
Thanks man any words of encouragement are great lol

Beendare

WKR
I shot my compound with a bent arm but just couldn't do it with stickbows...I was pushing that bow all over the place. My DL actually went up with sticks.