Bearpaw bows?

Sadler

WKR
I'm brand new to trad bows and was thinking about getting the bearpaw slick stick in #55 for future hunting and #40 to practice form. Has anyone tried out these bows? Is this a good bow to start out with? If anyone has recommendations, I'd appreciate it. I would like to keep it to a one piece Longbow though. Thanks in advance!

I would recommend shooting several trad bows before you buy one. If you go to a trad shop near by or a traditional shoot, you should be able to shoot a few. I've mostly been a recurve guy, and really like widows. But their longbows did not shoot well for me. I had a Morrison Dakota that I really liked. Shoot as many as you can if possible before you buy one (or especially two). There are some great bows out there these days. Check out the classified section on the leatherwall.

oldgoat

WKR
I got to shoot one of those bows the other day, had read about them and their testing etc and was intrigued and finally got a chance to shoot one. It shot very nice, I however think starting out that a three piece bow with my more mass in the riser would be a better plan! The light mass weight bows are not very forgiving of form issues. I also wouldn't buy two at once, get one of whatever you get and an ILF bow that you can change limbs on would be a really good way to start! Watch"The Push" video on YouTube if you haven't already and seek out some lessons from an actual qualified instructor if you can before you even buy a bow if possible! Good Luck!

Toelke Traditional Archery: Inventory Longbows

Toelke builds a great recurve and longbow. I just purchased my son a Toelke Whip longbow and I shot it quite a bit before I shipped it off to him. It's a sweet bow and Dan Toelke is great to deal with. My son's bow is 52# at 30" draw length. It does help to shoot a variety of the bows to see what fits you just right. Best luck with your choice.

oldgoat

WKR
Toelke Traditional Archery: Inventory Longbows