Arrow set up for newbie

I just got into archery a couple months ago starting with a 30# recurve shooting some arrows that came with it, pre set up by the company. Well, i just bought a bear 59 Kodiak reissue in 45# for hunting hopefully this season and i'm trying to figure out what arrows to get or set up for it. I've never done any of this before but i have been doing a bunch of reading and using the dynamic spine calculators. Most forums recommend a 500 spine arrow, but when i run it through the calculator i get a low FOC and GPP. I was thinking of going with GT traditional 400, and 150 broad heads bare shaft tuned to my setup. I have a 28" drawand im gonna be using GT traditional carbon (i get a deal). Any help would be greatly appreciated.

oldgoat

WKR
Start with those full length, I bet you end up with 200gr at least up front. Probably more like 250 up front.

OP
T
playing with the calculator a little, I've come up with some rough estimates for starting points:

150g at 32" -478 grain 15%FOC
175g at 31" -494 grain 17%FOC
200g at 30.125 -511 grain 19%FOC

so i think i'm gonna start with the 175 and 200 grain field points and see what i end up with.

ScottH

Lil-Rokslider
Work on the basics with establishing good shooting form doing some up close blank bale work. Get a consistent shot sequence before you start worrying about fine tuning your arrows. Start with the 500's full length and 175 grn. pts.

oldgoat

WKR
Don't get to wrapped up with those calculators, there's way to much difference between stick bows for them to be more than a starting point, even two identical spec bows from the same bowyer can shoot different. Never cut an arrow till you shoot it and figure out it's too weak with the points you want to use and verify it with a lighter weight tip first.

OP
T