Using GPS with utm grid coordinates

cvsetter

FNG
This will be my first trip west this sept. And I've been reading up on backcountry navigation.i like the idea of the utm grids to plot where you are on the map from your GPS.i understand how to plot and read them,I get pairing the map datums on topo and Gps.what north heading do you use?do I set to true north and adjust the magnetic declination on my compass to the area or after more reading do I set it to grid north and adjust the difference of magnetic declination to grid north on the compass for navigating to a way point.

corylee4870

Lil-Rokslider
My understanding is to set your declination to Grid North that matches your map. Then set your GPS to Grid.

If the gps doesn’t have the Grid option, use True north & set your declination to True north.

I’m still new at this so I would verify what I’m telling you.

Back Country Navigation 1
Back Country Navigation 2

606e6243dc37e1008d79975ebaa57e56.jpg

526454f23557383b68eb600f15378e75.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Rokwiia

WKR
Before I go out in the woods, I draw magnetic north lines on my topo maps. You can do it using the computer if you pint out maps or with a 24" rules and a pencil. I do both. This provides you with several SIGNIFICANT advantages.

1) In the field, you can take a reading on the fly without having to orient the map. Sometimes there are high winds or heavy rain which make orienting a map cumbersome if not impractical.

2) In the field, you won't be using the magnetic needle to take readings so there is no concern about metal nearby altering a reading.