Coues deer card hits

OP
huntstrong2850
Drew another early tag!! Cant wait!!

I'm new to coues and only hunted the January rut. But I hear a lot of guys who love the early tag because they get first crack at the deer. But my question is do you guys think it's even possible to come from out of state and be successful on the early hunt with no scouting other than what you know about from December early hunt and January hunt. I feel like drawing the October hunt would be a waste without having deer pre scouted and located

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

DEHusker

WKR
I'm new to coues and only hunted the January rut. But I hear a lot of guys who love the early tag because they get first crack at the deer. But my question is do you guys think it's even possible to come from out of state and be successful on the early hunt with no scouting other than what you know about from December early hunt and January hunt. I feel like drawing the October hunt would be a waste without having deer pre scouted and located

Nah, it can be done. It is tougher, yes, but very doable. I don't want to save points forever to hunt the late hunts so I hunt the October/November hunts. I don't live close enough to scout pre-season either. Heck, I couldn't even get out there until day 2 of the season last year and I still saw deer every AM and PM. There is a learning curve for sure and you have to do some serious pre-season "Google Earth" scouting to find some promising points. The big thing for me is getting away from others. I'll hike in 1-4 miles to set up camp and glass the heck out of the area. Even in low density areas I've seen good deer this way. Nothing is better than glassing up a buck in the Arizona backcountry. You'll remember the first one you find...it's addictive.

OP
huntstrong2850
Well that's good to know. I did draw the early December hunt this year but I'd like to try that October hunt also one year.

Maverick940

Banned