Muzzleloader Sabot Preferences

Stohs57

FNG
I have a T/C Omega in .50 cal that I bought brand new back in 2005 to kill all those big bucks during December in Nebraska that were just too far away to kill with a bow. Well, as luck would have it, it has been 11 muzzleloader seasons since then, and I have yet to kill a deer with it!!! I've killed countless coyotes and a couple bobcats with it, but no deer. But I digress, back to my original question...

I have "finished off" a couple deer for friends on the blood trail with T/C's 250 grain Shockwave's, and the performance was questionable. Both deer I've put the last shot on, simple entered and exited without much expansion. One shot being 20 yards through the shoulder, another was 50 yards right behind the shoulder.

I'm no expert, but wouldn't we be looking for more internal damage than just a hole in and out? Is that sufficient? Or should I be trying to find a more rapid expanding bullet? I'm curious what you fine folks here on Rokslide would recommend. I've looked briefly at the DRT 170 grain bullet that is supposed to just "blow up" inside the rib cage, but question it's penetration on quartering towards shots through the shoulder. Any info is appreciated. Maybe I'll finally get lucky this winter! I shoot the full charge of blackhorn 209 and CCI 209 primer. Thanks!