Observations from deer season...

Lawnboi

WKR
I agree with you on the above. Even as a non resident, I prefer to find my own spots.

I cringe when I see a what unit or where to hunt post. Nothing replaces spending time in the woods. That said when I started, I sure did ask some pointers on where to begin.

Tell one guy a spot you maybe used to frequent, next thing you know the whole bro squad is in camped on the road. Even in the short time Iv been going to the west I notice it in places.

I can see your a little sour about pressure situation. I think it's happening everywhere. Here in my home state you will see 6 trucks.... Parked and hunting a fricken 40acre plot, this is common during gun season. Problem is too many hunters and not enough public land. Private land is getting harder and harder to come by permission wise due to the price being put on shooting a big deer, commercializations and trophy hunting. Hunting in some regards is losing what hunting really is, to me atleast. Yea I like to take a mature animal, but it's not all about the size of the headgear for me.

Of course this is all my opinion. I greatly appreciate the oppritunity I have to hunt many states. What I dread is seeing that oppritunity go down, especially being so young. When I get more years in the job, family life stabilizes, I hope to spend more time hunting as many places as I can.

OP
Broomd

Broomd

WKR
Times have changed, and so has gear, drive, intensity.
For FL, SItka, Kuiu it's about money, (and they are making some great gear!) but the practical truth is that it's all meant to make one more efficient and prepared to go more remote and harder. We all know it's more mental than anything, but these other factors: state-of-the-art gear, gps, ultralight weapons, ballistic scopes, compensating rangefinders.....they have changed the game.