Wyoming with Nine PP

Tryin

FNG
So, time has gotten away from me over the last several years and I find myself with nine points for Wyoming pronghorns and no idea where to use them.

I started accruing points back in the “BB” (of Bowsite fame) days of allowing hunters to travel out with him for basically a semi-guided hunt at one of his many honey-holes. I missed the point deadline one year and was thus disqualified for that particular outlet. Not wanting to just lose the points that I did accrue, I just kept buying them in hopes that I would finally have enough time and money to go. Well, here we are.

I have some obstacles for consideration in your recommendation:

I’m not a western hunter, Indiana and Kentucky whitetails are my only big game animal experience.

I don’t have a ton of money. I’m just a patrol level cop at a small agency. No outfitters, and I can’t buy a ton of gear.

I am trying to combine my hunting with a family trip. They (family) are pretty autonomous and do not require me to be around to have a great time. That said, I would like to be hunting within an hour or two of wherever we pick a hotel to base out of.

Other considerations:

I need good public access.

I would like the opportunity to try archery, but will be taking my rifle. Honestly, the rifle is probably gonna be considered as primary. Archery use might change recommended areas due to topography?

I don’t feel the need to burn the points “just because”. If there is a better way to get my feet wet and later spend the points on a trophy unit, that’s fine. If I can just go into a trophy unit with good odds of success with my current points, that’s fine too.

I can camp, truck camp, or commute from a hotel. I know opinions will vary, but I’m leaning toward commuting. Maybe add an overnight camp option if needed. If I do a week-ish camp, I’m gonna have to buy more/different gear. I don’t have good backpacking gear at the moment.