Rangefinder for archery

Yotekiller

Lil-Rokslider
I have been using the same old Nikon 400 for around 18 to 20 years. It just wont die. I have decided it is time to upgrade to something with angle compensation. The Nikon Monarch 3000 stabilized is on sale right now at Cabelas for $299.99. I know Aaron Snyder has been recommending this model. The angle compensation is supposed to work almost vertically straight up and down. I have heard that most rangefinders can't function with extremely steep angles. All the reviews I can find online are from rifle hunters claiming it doesn't work well for them with the tall narrow beam and the yardage not meeting their expectations. The Nikon prostaff 3i ($229.99)and 7i ($299.99)can also handle the steep angles. Does anyone have any experience with any of these for archery? Is there another rangefinder that handles steep angles that has been working better for anyone?

Last edited:

Beendare

WKR
I have a Nikon RF its good...but prefer my Leopold with the OLED readout

In hunting situations, it seems I'm always ranging at first or last light and its hard to see the Nikon readout....not so with the Leopold.

My experience with the Nikon 3000 has been good for archery purposes. My buddy has it, and it's always within 1/2 yard of my Leica/cut sheet combo. I wouldn't buy it for a rifle hunting rangefinder, the beam divergence is definitely a bit much and it isn't super reliable a long ways out.

Sent from my PH-1 using Tapatalk

jmez

WKR
I have a Leupold, one of the archery models and I've been happy with it.

I've never checked the actual accuracy? I assume it is correct. I use the range finder to set my sight so the exact yardage is irrelevant as long as it is consistent.

Sent from my moto z3 using Tapatalk

GregB

WKR