Llama Rental

BG775

FNG
A friend and I recently made a trip to Idaho for a backcountry elk hunt. Early on in the planning stages, we decided a little help packing out would give us more time to hunt and a few extra luxuries around camp. Some internet research led us to Beau Baty of Wilderness Ridge Trail Llamas. After a little back and forth with questions, we sent in a deposit.

Let me start out by saying I have very little experience with stock animals. We showed up and got a crash course in llamas. He really has just about anything you can think of covered and makes it pretty easy.

The llamas were very easy to handle. Over the course of the trip, we covered about fifty miles moving camp locations (new area we had never hunted). They got spooked once by some inquisitive sheep and almost ran me over less than a mile from the truck in the way out, but it was smooth sailing after that. They spit at each other occasionally, but never at us. We encountered horses on the trail without a problem. We did take them off trail a bit, and those llamas can go anywhere I could, including through deadfall. Around camp they were a breeze. They’d graze on just about anything. We left them at camp while hunting during the day and would move them at night and give them some water.

There is not one negative thing I can say about the trip. I won’t hesitate to do it again.

That is awesome. I have been very interested in llamas the last couple of years. I hope to get a few here after a while. Your experience just solidifies my thoughts.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I rented Llamas from Beau and Kirstin for the first time this year as well. They are great folks who run a good business. I’d highly recommend them. For the first 5 days I thought the llamas were robots they were so easy to deal with. We had a bit of a rodeo on the pack out but it would not deter me at all from booking again.

18c385f67e1cbd699bd7835f95c02743.jpg

bmart2622

WKR