EXO Mountain Gear Question

JDB9818

WKR
I actually did the exact same thing. I love the layout of the Exo bag, but I spent the elk season trying to get comfortable with the pack. I came home and tried a SG and that frame and pack just work better for me.

Absolutely think the Exo is a great pack but the SG just fit me better. Can’t go wrong either way.

OP
11bhank

11bhank

FNG
Yes, the x-frame. I’ll have to try it out in the field before I brag too much. However, walking around weighted down it feels very good.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I get my EXO today, can't wait to try out. Hoping I won't have same issues with fit, I shouldn't I got some junk in the trunk 😂. Coming from the backpacking world, bags are like boots. No one answer for everyone.

pyrannah

Lil-Rokslider
i am having the same issue as the original poster

been driving me crazy!!!!

i know this is old thread but still a good read

JNDEER

WKR
I am not an EXO expert but have owned all their packs and still own two of them.

Something that helped me with these packs and testing all the packs I have looked at this year chasing the unicorn is this:

put some weight in the pack... anyway you would like. Now- put on the shoulder straps and cinch them down to where it feels comfortable for you. Now stand up straight or have just a slight forward lean and grab both sides of the waist belt and pull around your hips as if you were going to snap them. Don’t try and move the belt or frame up or down to get them into the correct position (centered over hip).. it should just wrap around naturally. If it doesn’t raise or lower the shoulder straps and repeat.

having tried to go the other way like many manf. Suggest (belt first then should straps) can lead sometimes to getting a pack you think is correct based on marks on the harness- but when you stand more upright or start to move/walk the frame shifts or sags or applies too much pressure.