Budget pack, ILBE VS Eberlestock

Alvin

FNG
Budget pack suggestions?

Hello
I'm just getting into mountain hunting, and I'm now looking for a pack suitable for multi-day hunts, preferably on the cheaper side.
I'm now looking at either getting a used ILBE gen 2 rucksack or a used Eberlestock Just One j34.

From what I've read, ILBE can be lightened to 8lbs by cutting off the excess Molle webbing, so the weight of difference is not that much between the 2 systems.
I'm 5'11'', will the load lifters on these two packs be adequate for my height?
The Eberlestock is significantly more expensive than the ILBE, I wonder if it's worth it to spend the extra for the Eberlestock?

Thanks!

Edit: Now looking at used Kifaru/MR, and advice on these?

Last edited:
Welcome to the forum!

If you can afford the Eberlestock you can probably afford a used Kifaru/Stone Glacier frame. Strap a dry bag or duffel bag to the outside and it'll handle weight better than the ILBE or Eberlestock. That would also give you the option of upgrading bags later if this becomes a passion. It'll also hold resale value pretty well.

For the retail price of a J34, you could find a used/sale price Mystery Ranch Pintler/Metcalf and have a MUCH better pack.

Jmac603

Lil-Rokslider
I was able to score a brand new Mystery Ranch Glacier off the webs for $262 just last week. It is very similar to their Marshall pack. Just smaller and missing a few features. Still rated to carry a good amount of weight. Can usually score a 20% off coupon code for some of the outdoors sites.

Jason

bsnedeker

WKR
God I love this board...it never disappoints!

Alvin, as others have stated, if you aren't in a huge rush to get out and get a pack right now you should lurk in the classifieds for a used Kifaru, Stone Glacier, MR, or an EXO. They pop up here all the time for not much more than you are looking to spend on the Eberlestock.