Arrowhead outfitters review (Stay far Away from them)

mossyhorn

FNG
No offense to the OP or anyone else that's used this particular service, but... How much research was done in finding a transporter? There are a number of great services in the Brooks Range for caribou. Any internet research at all would have given a number of negative reviews about this outfit. They have a long reputation of stacking hunters up on top of eachother and not following through on their word. Not to mention $2500/person!?!?!?! I didn't pay that much to fly from Fairbanks to the north side of the Brooks (a 2.5 hour flight in a helio or 206) for sheep/caribou/grizz when I was a resident, with one of the best services in the region. I know things are a little more expensive on the north side for fuel but come on!

These guys are flying all day, every day, barring bad weather. They know exactly where the caribou are. So for them to drop guys where there are no caribou, that is plain un-ethical. I've been on the slope, hunting the haul road, when there have been no caribou. It sucks because there's nothing you can do to change it. You can't hunt harder, they're either there or they're not. That's just part of caribou hunting, BUT...a good air service will put you in or ahead of the caribou.

Guys, do your research. If you find an outfit you think might work, get on line and ask for reviews or first hand experience. The Alaska Outdoor Forum is the best resource for all things hunting in Alaska. Tons and Tons of knowledge from the members on that forum as well as a huge archive to search through.

Good luck on your future hunts.

SLDMTN

Super Moderator
Staff member
Guys, do your research. If you find an outfit you think might work, get on line and ask for reviews or first hand experience. The Alaska Outdoor Forum is the best resource for all things hunting in Alaska. Tons and Tons of knowledge from the members on that forum as well as a huge archive to search through.