Quiet Rain Jacket for Elk Hunting

sivart

WKR
I have Kuiu's packable rain gear for backcountry hunting. I love it other than it's a little noisy.

I'm looking for a little quieter rain jacket for day hunts and stand hunting. What do you suggest? I'm ok with spending money on rain gear, as I look at it as a priority.

Sadler

WKR
Sitka has some pretty quiet stuff. It’s their thunderhead jacket and pant. It has a brushed fleece face on it. I have the gaiters and really like them and after this year in northern Idaho, I plan on getting the jacket.

OP
S

sivart

WKR
It will also be used for stand hunting. Mainly looking for the quietest option of the premium clothing lines.

Just ordered the downpour set bc it has a harness pass thru. I’ve heard good and bad. I got rid of my kuiu bc it was too loud and had no pass thru.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

gbflyer

WKR
We get 100” of rain a year where I live. I work in it most days. I’ve never owned rain gear that is quiet, even though marketed as such. As they are laminated products, a manufacturer can certainly put some sort of fleece on the outside, but the inside will still be crunchy. It will also eventually get you wet, starting at the shoulders. Sitka, Kuiu, Patagonia, Arcteryx, all of it. Better have a good synthetic or wool layer beneath it. The closest thing to quiet I’ve seen is the Impertec from Helly Hanson, and it can’t really be considered as a performance product. A distant second was the old Rivers West,but it soaked and got so heavy it was like wearing a lead vest.

I’ve come to accept that it will be noisy. My theory is that the sound of the rain does a lot to muffle the crunch of the gear. If I’m sitting, it’s the good heavy commercial fisherman’s Helly’s, Grundens, Guy Cotten’s, etc. If I’m moving, it’s wool or synthetic pile. Wet but warm.

Whoever comes up with the first quiet, breathable lightweight rain gear that works gets an automatic free pass to Heaven as far as I’m concerned

Kotaman

WKR