Smoking meat taking longer than expected? Why?

sk1

WKR
Hey guys I’m pretty new to smoking stuff....I’ve made some venison summer sausage and jerky.....but both took hours and hours longer than the recipe claimed. Am I doing something wrong? What would cause this?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Jbehredt

WKR
Hey guys I’m pretty new to smoking stuff....I’ve made some venison summer sausage and jerky.....but both took hours and hours longer than the recipe claimed. Am I doing something wrong? What would cause this?

Wind will do it. Plays havoc with some smokers.

You are in WI so it was probably the temp outside if you just did it. Also, the insulation and heat source may vary the time. Smoking in warm weather with the sun on my smoker is different than smoking in Nov. with the sun setting early. Could also be the size of the item being smoked. I smoked a turkey yesterday and it was windy and cool so I gave myself an extra hour and actually needed more time. Just leave it in until its done.

OP
sk1

sk1

WKR
Like the jerky I did said 6 hours and it took more like 10.....and the summer sausage I can’t remember anymore I did it last November, and it took like an additional 12 hours from what the recipe suggested

Do marinades play a factor? I was wondering if there was too much moisture on/in the meat even though I followed the recipes. I have done chicken and other things just fine without increased time.

Cold and wind could potentially have played a part

Jkling12

FNG