First elk hunt 2019!!

mhonas

FNG
Hey guys! so i am a from kansas and i am planning on going on my first elk hunt september 16th - 21st. I am a very active hunter back here in kansas hunting everything that i can, but i have no knowledge when it comes to elk! I have a son that is starting to get to the age where he is hunting with me and i am looking to get a couple elk hunts under my belt in the next few years and then take him along with me! I have been on the computer every night trying to learn as much as i can, but i still have a lot of unknowns! i am kind of leaning towards unit 18 and 34 to start my map scouting. one thing i could use pointers on what exactly i should be looking for on google maps and other maps to help me out since i cant actually get out into the mountains to scout.
I was planning on packing in and setting up a camp, but after reading many posts i am now leaning towards camping at my pickup so that i am more mobile since it is my first time! any tips and pointers would be very much appreciated as pretty much every aspect of this hunt will be new to me!

Thank you all for your time and help in advance!!

my email is [email protected] if anyone prefers to contact me that way instead

OFFHNTN

WKR
I would agree with camping at your truck and hiking out each day for your first hunt. I don't know how old your son is, but since this would be new for both of you, there is a lot to digest and worrying about when packing in. A spike camp, food, clothes, etc etc. and most of the time is it hard freaking work. I worry going too "hard core" on your first one would be no fun for you but especially your son. A truck camp is more comfortable, and as stated, you can move and be more flexible.
Good luck!

1shotgear

WKR
Rokslide Sponsor