Hunting Rifles With Threaded Barrels?

skywalkr

Lil-Rokslider
I am planning out a new hunting rifle and I would like to find one that has a threaded barrel so I can use my SilencerCo Omega with it but those seem to be more prevalent with tactical rifles. I would love a Tikka T3x but that would take some gunsmithing and I’m not really sure if it would be possible due to the barrel size (I’m far from an expert on this sort of thing so please correct me I’d I’m wrong).

I want something that will shoot at least 1MOA and so far the only thing I’ve found in a reasonable price range (sub $1500) is the Kimber Montana. I don’t mind spending more if it’s worth it but after a while I feel like it’s approaching custom rifle territory.

As far as caliber I’m open to everything from 6.5 CM to 30-06 to 300 WM but considering most of the hunting I do is whitetail, axis, and hogs at under 400 yards (most under 200 yards) I am leaning towards 6.5 CM so I can stay lightweight, not wreck my shoulder, and still be more than capable. If I make it out west for some bigger game then that will mean I’m likely at a place where I can be pretty comfortable upgrading as needed.

Stid2677

WKR
Luke has a Barrett Field Craft in 6.5 CM for sale, it is a shooter. I have shot it with the Omega installed, so I know this is a good setup. The Kimbers use a threaded barrel that is 7/16 x 28 so you will need an adapter that I could only find from Kimber. The Tikka CTR comes threaded and is in your price range. I have one of these that my wife uses for PRC, in 6.5 CM.

OP
S

skywalkr

Lil-Rokslider
Luke has a Barrett Field Craft in 6.5 CM for sale, it is a shooter. I have shot it with the Omega installed, so I know this is a good setup. The Kimbers use a threaded barrel that is 7/16 x 28 so you will need an adapter that I could only find from Kimber. The Tikka CTR comes threaded and is in your price range. I have one of these that my wife uses for PRC, in 6.5 CM.