Best rifle caliber to suppress

hwy1strat

WKR
I'm looking to get into the suppressed world. I want to build a short barreled tactical style rifle to host a suppressor. My dilemma is, I don't know what caliber to go with. I want something that I can shoot long range and hunt predators and deer with. I have very little experience with suppressors so I don't know if one caliber "sounds" better than another when suppressed. However, I am FULLY aware of subsonic vs supersonic through a suppressor. I would ideally like to shoot supersonic because I want to keep all the attributes of a full powered rifle cartridge. I have been heavily considering 308 win, but I am curious if a 6.5 "suppresses" just as well. The main cartridge I have been considering building my rifle for is 7SAUM, 6.5x284, 6.5 SAUM, 6.5 PRC, or 308win. Maybe this is a stupid question and all supersonic cartridges sound the same? I have no idea, so if someone with experience with sending a lot of different rounds through suppressors could educate me, I'd greatly appreciate it.

I have 20, 22 and 24 inch creedmoors. They sound as quiet/same as a 18" 308 using the same 30 cal can(harvester), from the bench and at 100 yards. At 400 the 308 sounds a bit quieter. Both are shot with the 30 cal endcap. Personally, I wouldn't spend extra for a 6.5 endcap for a 30 cal can. My 22" PRC runs a different 30 cal can(omega) and has different tone. Don't know if it is more powder or just the difference in the suppressors. I haven't run the omega on the 308 to compare....

hodgeman

WKR
I can't personally tell the difference. All suppressed supersonic rounds basically sound the same to me until you get up there in terms of powder capacity.

6.5, .308, 7-08....all sounded exactly alike to me. 300 Norma had more volume, but still not a drastic difference.