Tethrd tree saddle vs tree stand

William Hanson (live2hunt)

Super Moderator
Staff member
Do any of you saddle hunt?

I'm new to this concept. I've used lone wolf climbers for years and didnt know I had any complaints with them until a buddy of mine showed me saddle hunting. Depending on what climbing method I end up deciding on it should be about 1/3 of the weight of my climber, Which has obvious advantages for getting away from the crowd on public land here in Missouri but also should make it a lot more applicable for Western hunting For those of you so inclined. Saddles are basically a lineman's harness stripped down for weight.

Anyway I got the Tethrd mantis saddle that I'm going to try out this season and I'm waiting on their predator platform.

I'm intrested in any tips you guys have since this is new to me.

Live2hunt custom shelters

KHNC

WKR
I have used the Guidos web stand for 6 years now. Love it. Hated the saddles from Tree Saddle. Too close to the tree and very uncomfortable to me. Guidos has the v bar between legs when relaxed to keep you off the tree. i used 3 screw in steps to walk around the tree to shoot. I also use a loop to extend the harness and give a little more mobility.

go4thegusto

WKR
Classified Approved
I have used the Guidos web stand for 6 years now. Love it. Hated the saddles from Tree Saddle. Too close to the tree and very uncomfortable to me. Guidos has the v bar between legs when relaxed to keep you off the tree. i used 3 screw in steps to walk around the tree to shoot. I also use a loop to extend the harness and give a little more mobility.

I agree with TS assessment above. I hated them and sold them. Ended up hauling basically the same weight as a light treestand like a Lone Wolf. More comfort, better mobility and flexibility in a stand for me.