Jason Hairston of KUIU passed away today

Broomd

WKR
I don't think this is limited to high school, college level and pro's. I started playing football when I was 8 years old. From the very first day of tackling you were taught to lead with your head. That the helmet will protect you. We did tackling drills called "head on" where one kid would lay with the football, the other 10 yards away. When the whistle blew, you got up as fast as possible and ran staight into each other. Our first helmets were just pads inside that you had to break to form around your head. Quite a few kids would quit due to how bad it hurt.

Everyone talks about guys being bigger, stronger, faster in the NFL every year. What about the young kids that are running as fast as they can, hitting head on, while their brains are still developing? No one ever mentions youth football. It's always a guy from the NFL has been found to have CTE.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk

And what many don't realize is that the trauma doesn't come from the head hitting the helmet, it is the brain hitting the inside of the skull. My twin sis is an emergency room doctor and she broke it down for me, she said that the absolute worst possibility is at least two immediate hits with the brain hitting the inside of the skull. With one hit, the brain can heal. More than once and the damage is exponential given the already injured tissue.
Think how often that happens for any football player, soccer player, BOXER!....

Shrek

WKR
I played Football from 3rd - 12th grade. 2 Concussions, 1 slipped vertebrae.
It was a great time but now I'm paying the price. If I had to do it over again
I would have just spent more time in the woods / on the water.
This was back in the early 80's, the mentality was different. They wouldn't let us have
water during practice to toughen us up. I think about it now and it just blows my mind.