Piper cub with 33's lower 48 hunts 2019

Have one point for Wyoming deer elk and antelope. Nothing in any other state. Alaska isn't an option.

Probably wouldn't go further west then Idaho/Utah realistically.

Time frame is 25th of September to about 26th of October.

Any good hunts you'd recommend if you had free use of a plane next year.

Looking for adventure more then huge trophy.

• Banned
OP
N
at 10 plus points required to draw and no random tags issued not giving anything away....

But Wyoming elk unit 2 is a great place to have a plane to do a diy hunt and kill a giant as an example

mtnkid85

WKR
Any of the land locked sections in North central or eastern MT would be a fun trip. OTC for deer in a lot of those units.
Id also be looking into the backcountry strips in the Frank Church.

Beendare

WKR
FWIW, there are many restrictions on landing a plane in some of these areas. I'm no expert on the subject but it would be easy to check with the USFS,etc to get the skinny.

if I'm not mistaken, thats why Randy Newberg uses a helo to access landlocked ground...it never actually lands.

That said, I'm sure there are places you could utilize the plane...just not sure how/where.

Last edited:

bbell

WKR
I have looked around a little bit because of my interest in flying and if I was to fly, backcountry off airport would be my focus. Someday maybe. There are websites that list areas in each state that have airstrips and details about them. Idaho has a ton compared to other states if I remember correctly. Every state is different with rules, but for the most part it’s kinda like driving to your hunting area. Land on the strips that are allowed and do what ever wait time the state requires. Good luck! Would love to do something like that. Make sure who ever is flying has experience. 33” bush wheels don’t make a bush plane, the pilot does.

slick

WKR
Unlimited’s are primarily Wilderness. Not sure where you guys are thinking of landing a bush plane up there?

SLDMTN