What is the deal with latex gloves?

topher89

WKR
Clean hands, clean meat and protection from infection.

Same reasons I have a nice backpack, nice boots and good gear. Why inconvenience myself when I can use the gloves?

ElkNut1

WKR
Never have & most likely never will use them. I've broken down over 200 deer & elk without them with cuts/split fingers on my hands & no issues, I don't use trekking poles either, maybe when I get older! (grin)

ElkNut/Paul

jmez

WKR
I'm a veterinarian.

Getting treated, as in the article you posted, is talking about people that would be know exposed in a chemical attack. You open a package that contains white powder. You would be put on antibiotics immediately prophylactically, (on the suspicion that you had been exposed). You get it from an animal, you aren't going to get treated, you will die.

Latex gloves will not offer any protection if you were to open an animal that had anthrax. You will inhale the spores and die.

I don't wear them while dressing deer but wouldn't see a problem with trying. I'm not concerned about getting a little dirty, that why I hunt and spend time in the woods.

A buddy stopped by to help me dress a deer earlier this season and pulled out his elbow length glove to put the heart in. It made a cleaner transfer which I was happy about.

If I was out in the mountains and wasn't going to be camping near a water source I would probably want to stay as clean as possible.

zacattack

WKR
I'm a veterinarian.

Getting treated, as in the article you posted, is talking about people that would be know exposed in a chemical attack. You open a package that contains white powder. You would be put on antibiotics immediately prophylactically, (on the suspicion that you had been exposed). You get it from an animal, you aren't going to get treated, you will die.

Latex gloves will not offer any protection if you were to open an animal that had anthrax. You will inhale the spores and die.