Smoker

Jimss

WKR
I just returned from Alaska and would really enjoy smoking some of the salmon fillets. Does anyone have a favorite smoker? Any tips on what to look for in a smoker?
Thanks!

Adjustable thermostat!

Electric and well insulated is good, but being able to maintain a constant, low temperature is crucial for fish

Jsunkler

Lil-Rokslider
I am very pleased with my Masterbuilt Cabinet smoker, it resembles a college mini fridge. It is an electric smoker that is super easy to set the temp and time, it also has an internal thermometer which is nice on bigger pieces of meat. I have processed over 100 lbs of snack sticks and jerky, ducks, ribs, wings, and large pieces of BBQ so far and am very pleased with the results. Picked mine up pretty cheap from Cabela's

muddydogs

WKR
I have a Masterbuilt 40" electric smoker and a propane smoker. Both work great but the MES 40 is a lot more set and forget then the propane smoker. I've done the mailbox mod on both my smokers and smoke with wood pellets in a pellet tube or AMPS tray so I can remove most of the heat from the cabinet if I want to cold smoke items like cheese and butter plus the mailbox mod gives a nicer smoke then the chip loader in the MES 40 or the burn pan in the propane smoker when running under 200 degrees.
The MES 40 control panel works well enough for most smoking but I took it one step further and wired in a PID controller to manage the temp swings better. I've even reworked my propane smoker with a needle valve in the gas line to make temp adjustment and control easier.